Awards for Excellence 2017


Each year, the Kansas Preservation Alliance honors the efforts of individuals and organizations that have made exemplary contributions to saving Kansas’ historic places. Since 1981, our annual Awards for Excellence ceremony has grown to become the largest statewide preservation awards assembly and recognizes exceptional accomplishments in the areas of advocacy, rehabilitation, philanthropy, and leadership.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2017 awards. Please take this opportunity to recognize the efforts of fellow preservationists. Awards for Excellence are given in the following categories:

Preservation Advocacy

The Preservation Advocacy Award for Excellence acknowledges outstanding individuals, organizations, or institutions for their demonstrated commitment to the advancement of historic preservation in Kansas.

The 2017 Preservation Advocacy nomination form can be found here.

Historic Preservation Project

The Historic Preservation Project Award for Excellence recognizes individuals or groups responsible for the rehabilitation of historic buildings and sites. Projects must meet the Secretary of Interior’s Standards and be eligible for listing in the Register of Historic Kansas Places.

The 2017 Historic Preservation Project nomination form can be found here.

Last year’s recipients can be found below.

2016 Awards for Excellence

Merit Award for Excellence in Preservation
Harry Keith Barn, Penokee (Graham County)

Merit Award for Excellence in Rehabilitation
Belleville High School, Belleville (Republic County)

Merit Award with Distinction for Excellence in Restoration
Breezedale Monuments, Lawrence (Douglas County)

Honor Award for Excellence in Reconstruction
Sts. Peter and Paul Church, Ellinwood (Barton County)

Honor Award for Excellence in Rehabilitation
Pioneer Bluffs Ranch Main Barn, Matfield Green (Chase County)

Honor Award for Excellence in Restoration
Hays Tavern (Hays House), Council Grove (Morris County)

Honor Award for Excellence in Restoration
Home on the Range Cabin, Athol (Smith County)

Honor Award for Excellence in Restoration
Riverfront Community Center, Leavenworth (Leavenworth County)

Advocacy Award for Excellence
Arvonia Historic Preservation Society, Osage City (Osage County)

Advocacy Award for Excellence
Don Harness, Garden City (Finney County)

Past Award Winners

2015 Awards for Excellence
2014 Awards for Excellence
2013 Awards for Excellence

2012 Awards for Excellence
2011 Awards for Excellence
2010 Awards for Excellence